FAT FREE DOUGHNUTS….

I have been eagerly waiting for my doughnut tin to arrive for a few weeks now and when I saw that little postal slip in my mailbox, I was hanging out until Monday to get it. I have been working on a low fat chocolate muffin recipe for awhile, something that is egg free and dairy free and still tastes good, I was randomly reading the back of the chia seeds packet when I spotted that they recommend using them as egg and oil replacements if you first soak your chia seeks. Also I stupidly ordered only one doughnut tray, the doughnut tray takes lot less batter then a cupcake tray so you have to significantly reduce your quantities. I’m going to put this recipe together to fill a 12 cupcake tray. I’m going to say they are fat free because they work out to be less then half a gram of fat per cupcake.
CHIA SEED MIXTURE
1 tablespoon of chia seeds 
180mls of water 
Put the seeds and water together and give them a good mix then soak them for 15 mins, give them a mix again and you have your egg and oil replacement.
INGREDIENTS
220g of self raising flour
200g of sugar (you can use less if you prefer, or any sugar replacement)
3 tablespoons of cocoa powder
Chia seed mixture
180mls of water (this is in addition to the chia seed mixture water)
OPTIONAL
a small handful of crushed frozen raspberries
I was lazy and literally threw everything into the bowl at once (that is how I roll most of the time) and just mixed it together, and spooned it into the tray. 
If you are fulling a 12 cupcake tray then bake for 20 mins on 180, if you are filling a doughnut tray then halve this recipe and bake for 15mins on 180.
Enjoy.
Leave a Reply

